My Herbalife Journey Diary

6 Aug

Two weeks ago I saw a photo of my long-time friend Charlie on Facebook. She looked amazing – she’s always looked amazing, but it was more her statement on the photo that got me:

herbalife charlie kanareck

My lovely friend Charlie

Plus she looks darn amazing in that swimsuit…

I hadn’t heard anything about Herbalife before, but I was intrigued. I started doing my research but also arranged to meet Charlie. When I did, she told me all about Herbalife, the history, the products, the well-being, lifestyle and I was sold. I’m wary of fads. I don’t believe in diets. I don’t believe in shakes. This isn’t a diet. This isn’t a fad. This isn’t just shakes.

I don’t need to lose weight, but I want to tone up and I want a flat stomach, which I don’t have. I’m a pretty healthy person and do watch what I eat (you only see the pics of the gluttonous food!) but let’s face it. I used to get the tube to work. Now I’m walking from house-to-car-to-work-to-car-to-house. Added to that, the business I now work for is one of the big four supermarkets! You should see the treats we get in head office. I know how to resist though. I have determination.

After visiting Charlie, I did some more research. I was willing myself to find bad stuff – but I didn’t! I was pleased. I also started telling friends about it and it seemed others had heard about it which was a good sign. Also of course I scoured pics on Instagram which I loved looking at 🙂

Part of the problem people don’t realise, is that they think they are doing themselves a favour by starving themselves, when all they are doing is storing fat. Most people know that. I know that – but this is one step further. Five small eats a day and lots of water. Don’t let your body get hungry. Tide it over – and you don’t need to have a huge eat when you are hungry. Lots of water. THAT was a challenge for me in itself. When I first visited Charlie my water intake was VERY low. Not dangerously low – but wasn’t far off. I knew I didn’t drink enough water. Less than 500 mls a day. Now I’m drinking 2-3 litres a day. I never thought that would happen.

I decided what products I wanted based on my lifestyle. The formula 1 shake, the aloe concentrate drink and herbal extract tea. It’s not cheap! However, when you convert to normal food pricing – it’s the cost of a couple of nice meals out (I keep telling myself that).

I collected my items from Charlie last week. Oh I also invested in a smoothie maker – but not just any smoothie maker. This is a Kenwood SB056 and SO convenient. It was only £20. It comes with two mugs which you blend into and is the best option for me in the mornings. Super easy to clean too.

Kenwood SB056 Smoothie 2 Go Maker, Black

Best smoothie maker on a budget

I envisaged that I would be making my smoothie and out of the door but as I have to have it within 30 mins of waking up.

My week-day mornings go something like this:

  • 6:30 – wake up
  • 6:35-6:40 – drink two glasses of water with aloe concentrate, make smoothie with formula 1 healthy meal. Make herbal extracts tea
  • 6:45 – shower
  • 7:00 – drink smoothie, drink tea

I get ready for work after this and I’m out of the door by 7:40.

I feel fairly full when I’m leaving for work but also feel good – and awake! By the time I get to work my bladder is feeling the pressure though! Yours would too after two glasses of water, a tea and a shake!

I started Herbalife on Saturday. I’ve been doing it for five days now and I’m feeling good – but I do attribute that to the increased water intake too.

I’m going to continue to post my diaries when I can so I can keep you updated with snippets of my journey.

Hopefully you’ll see a difference and if you are interested, be inspired – but also it’s for me to keep a record of what’s happening as it is very much to do with food and that’s what this blog is about  – right?

Day 1: Saturday 2nd August

Measuring up – my waist is… I don’t even want to say it – 87cm.

Determined to trim this tum. 87cm waist is NOT good. I haven't even had bloody children!

Determined to trim this tum. 87cm waist is NOT good. I haven’t even had bloody children!

Breakfast: Poached egg on granary toast, samphire and instant herbal beverage with tea extract, lemon. 339 calories

poached egg on granary toast and samphire

Lunch: F1 Vanilla shake, half a banana, meridian crunchy peanut butter (1tbsp). 419 calories

formula 1 herbalife shake

 

Dinner – 455 calories

Snacks (almond, brazil and pistachio nuts) – 140 calories

1251 calories consumed.

Leave a Reply

NutriBullet Blog

Just another WordPress site

Hair Valley

For Weave, Wig & braid wearers who also want great Natural Hair

Steve Says...

"just a guy, writing stuff on a blog asking you to connect"

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

