Catfish Banhmi from Banhmi11 (Vietnamese Fish Finger Sandwich Craving) | Berwick Street Market, Soho London

6 Oct

Friday is Fish and Chips day. Right? It’s a well known FACT!

I didn’t want stodgy fish and chips for my lunch on Friday but I did want a fish finger sandwich, and I knew where from. Marks and Spencer. Sounds odd right? But M&S’s Café on Long Acre does serve some decent food, and I knew they did fish finger sandwiches. So how disappointed was I when I turned up to join a long queue and then didn’t see said sandwich anywhere on their menu? And Marks and Spencer why the hell don’t you have the café menu’s published on your websites? FAIL!

I was lost. I wanted a fish finger sandwich and nothing else would do! I knew Leon did one but I wanted to see if there was anything else out there before I took a walk to Old Compton Street. So lost I started Googling “fish and chip sandwich london” with the hope that someone would have posted a nice review on where I could find one. That’s when I stumbled across Food Network’s London’s 10 Best Sandwiches. Catfish Banhmi from Banhmi11. The answer was right in front of me. The little Vietnamese stall pitched up on Berwick Street that I had been meaning to go to for months – there is no better time.

I went along and didn’t even have to queue. Ordered my sandwich and opted for “spicy” when asked how hot I wanted it. I also had some dried shallots on it. £6 was kind of steep for a sandwich but it’s Friday so what the hell. Fish and Chips in London would have cost me a score.

That sandwich kept me filled up til dinner time with no snacking so it was well worth it. I was told by a fellow customer that next time I should try the beef pho… Hmm I think I’ll leave that to the CayTre experts.

Banhmi11 Menu at Berwick Street

Banhmi11 Menu at Berwick Street

Banhmi11 staff hard at work during lunch hour

Banhmi11 staff hard at work during lunch hour

banhmi 11 berwick street

Catfish Banhmi from Banhmi11

My sandwich in progress. Hefty £6. The most I’d ever spend on a sandwich!

Catfish Banhmi Wrapped to go

Catfish Banhmi Wrapped to go

Catfish Banhmi from Banhmi11

Catfish Banhmi from Banhmi11 – not the fish finger sandwich I was expecting – but a damn good substitute.

Inside Catfish Banhmi Sandwich

Inside my Catfish Banhmi Sandwich. Doesn’t it look amaze?

Leave a Reply

NutriBullet Blog

Just another WordPress site

Hair Valley

For Weave, Wig & braid wearers who also want great Natural Hair

Steve McSteveface

"just a guy, writing stuff on a blog - hoping people will read it"

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

