Recipe | Emerald Street | Chachouka Inspired by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall

19 Feb

Part two of my inspired weekend of cooking (see previous post) took place this morning for breakfast. I so love the recipes that I pick up from Stylist Magazine and Emerald Street. Infact I’m probably more in love with Emerald Street because I sit at a computer nine hours a day and when a recipe drops into my inbox there’s nothing I like doing more than staring at inspiring recipes.

I also think Hugh’s way of cooking is so convincing. The man wrote a whole book about vegetables which would convert any non veggie eater.

This weekend I made Chachouka. WTF you say? Well doing a little hunting around I found out that chachouka (also called shakshouka) originates from North Africa – thought to be Tunisia. Quite apt that the OH came back from working in Tunisia on Friday – not so sure he was impressed with this as a breakfast dish though. Ah well you win some you lose some.

I added my twist and bent a few rules (well what is the fun in following a recipe down to a T?).

I added chorizo – don’t shoot me – I know it’s SO WRONG to take an Arabic dish and add pork to it BUT I had it in my fridge and looking at it I started to hear “I would taste SO good in that dish, why don’t you slice me a few times and see? You won’t regret it”. How can you turn down such pleas? I also think it’s quite funny that I took a “Meat Free Monday” recipe from Emerald Street and added – meat. (I have a weird sense of humour).

I added mushroom. I don’t think this is such a sin as the chorizo admittance.

Recipe here and below.

Chachouka inspired by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall

Chachouka Recipe from Emerald Street

You’ll need to make sure the pan you use on the hob is oven proof, or it will be a hassle to transfer everything to a dish to then put in the oven. I use a Jamie Oliver for Tefal Sauté Pan. It’s my second favourite cookware (Le Creuset is first of course).

Chachouka for two

Ingredients

1 and a ½ tbsps olive oil

½ tsp cumin seeds

½ a large onion, finely sliced

1 garlic clove crushed

½ a red pepper, cored, deseeded and finely sliced

½ a yellow pepper, cored, deseeded and finely sliced

½ tsp of hot smoked paprika

a pinch of saffron strands

½ a 400g tin plum or tomatoes, if plum, blitz for a second in a hand processor

2 eggs (one each but if a greedy person wants two, give them an extra one but make sure there is a bit of shell to punish them for being greedy)

sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Method

Heat the olive oil in a large ovenproof frying pan over a medium heat.
Add the cumin seeds and let them fry gently for a couple of minutes.
Add the onion AND CHORIZO! and cook gently for 8-10 minutes, or until soft and golden.

Add the garlic and peppers and continue to cook over a low heat for at least 20 minutes, stirring often, until the peppers are soft and wilted.

Add the paprika, crumble in the saffron, then add the tomatoes with their juice and some salt and pepper.
Cook gently, stirring from time-to-time, for 5-10 minutes. Preheat the oven to 180°C/Gas Mark 4.

Taste the mixture and adjust the seasoning if necessary. Make hollows in the surface for each of the eggs and carefully break an egg into each space.
Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the egg white is set and the yolk still runny.

Serve with french stick bread. Yum.

2 Responses to “Recipe | Emerald Street | Chachouka Inspired by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall”

  1. Serena March 1, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Claire! when can you cook this for me?? looks divine!! x

    • FoodieClaire March 21, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      I would love to cook it for you. So easy and really tasty. Mmmm I want it now! xxx

Leave a Reply

LIFE

Classic Pictures From LIFE Magazine's Archives

The Very Hungry Londoner

Food. Travel. London.

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

Starter and main please, skip the dessert...

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

Dishes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

Starter and main please, skip the dessert...

Samphire and Salsify

just another food blog

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Baker on the Rise

one sweet recipe at a time

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,173 other followers

