British Asparagus Season in FoodieClaire’s World…

11 Jun

As we near the end of British Asparagus Season, it feels only right to let you know how much I just LOVE this vegetable. I love all vegetables (there isn’t a single vegetable I don’t eat) but I have particular love for this one because it’s only ethically with us for 2 months a year.

Asparagus Season starts in April and ends around mid June

Asparagus Season starts in April and ends around mid June

Firstly I must say that two years ago prompted by my boss Louise, I decided that I was to never buy a bunch of asparagus in a shop out of season ever again. If you eat a bunch of asparagus from Peru and some from the UK, you will certainly taste the difference. Not to mention the awful carbon footprint. Now I’m not going to turn into a martyr and say that everything I buy in this world is made in the UK. But this desperate need to be able to consume asparagus all year round should really stop. Everyone seems content to only eat strawberries during Wimbledon season so why can’t asparagus be the same?

This year UK asparagus first touched my kitchen in April. I bought a bunch and served it with dinner, then two days later we had it again.

Knowing I was going on holiday to Barbados on the 19th of April for two weeks I suddenly became worried that I was going to miss out on two vital weeks of the season so I decided to buy some asparagus from Marks and Spencer during my lunch break to eat. I washed it properly, microwaved it and had it with butter. I ate the whole pack. 10 minutes later my hands started to become very hot, itchy and red, my face became extremely hot and looking in the mirror I was beetroot red. “You don’t look very well” said my team leader.

About a half hour later the side effects calmed down. I told The Man what happened to me and he said “You had asparagus for lunch today when we had it on Sunday and two days ago?”. Protesting that it was the season and it wasn’t my fault this had happened to me – he replied “I just don’t understand why you’re trying to eat all the stocks of asparagus in one week”.

It didn’t put me off. I concluded I just shouldn’t have had so much of it in one go – in…. oh less than two minutes.

I’m going to miss the season when it goes (in around 10 or so days) but there are so many other vegetables I can enjoy between now and next April when it returns.

Here is how I serve it with main courses:

Asparagus wrapped in Parma Ham, grilled or oven baked for about 8-10 minutes

Asparagus wrapped in Parma Ham, grilled or oven baked for about 8-10 minutes

Now, this is one of my most favourite ways to enjoy asparagus – introduced to me by the lovely Janie Stamford. Dip asparagus into soft boiled eggs. Absolutely divine.

Asparagus with soft boiled eggs, bacon and cholla bread

Asparagus with soft boiled eggs, bacon and cholla bread

If you haven’t had your fill of asparagus this year yet – get down to your supermarket/local shop and find some – don’t forget to check where it’s from (usually Kent) NOT PERU!

CJT ❤

2 Responses to “British Asparagus Season in FoodieClaire’s World…”

  1. Perdita June 11, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I couldn’t agree more. Environment aside (not that it isn’t important) foreign asparagus out-of-season is bland and rubbish.

    I like to steam mine lightly, and top with a poached egg so the runny goes all over the spears when you poke it with your fork! A side of nice, hand-cooked and hand-cut ham makes a delicious brunch. Because I think of it as such a treat it just MUST be on a lovely sunny Saturday later-than-usual-wake-up, in a fluffy robe with Saturday Kitchen on the telly. Ah bliss.

    • foodieclaire June 12, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      Yum, of course ham goes so well with poached eggs. Crusty bread a must too! Shame the weather isn’t reflecting the lovely picture you described above. Thanks for viewing 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

NutriBullet Blog

Just another WordPress site

Hair Valley

For Weave, Wig & braid wearers who also want great Natural Hair

Steve McSteveface

"just a guy, writing stuff on a blog - hoping that people will read it"

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Nutrition

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl