Recipe | Stylist Magazine Recipe | Glazed scallops with apple and pistachio; Pan-fried duck breast with raspberry and balsamic sauce

11 Jun

Birthdays to me generally mean food, and theres nothing I like more than cooking (duh).

I anticipated a very special birthday meal last month by planning ahead with a very special menu:
Starter: Scallops with apple and pistachio dressing
Main: breast of duck with raspberry sauce
The bulk of time was spent prepping the ingredients. To start I had a whole duck to dissect. It’s amazing what you can get out of a whole duck! I portioned it courtesy of YouTube’s assistance:

My effort:

how to portion a whole duck - before

the "after" photos of a portioned duck

The breast I set aside for the birthday main, I also took off the legs, seasoned everything apart from the breasts and put it in the oven to roast – that was one week day dinner along with pancakes, cucumber and hoisin sauce, not to mention the duck fat I have waiting to grace Sunday roast potatoes.
To prep the sauce for the scallops I had to soften the apples with cinnamon, cloves and star anise, add pistachios, then blend everything and put through a sieve. That was one part of the sauce. The other part of the sauce required pistachios, extra virgin olive oil, again blended. Sauces done. I then had to warm a mixture of red wine vinegar, a few saffron strands and some honey, fry the scallops for 2 mins on each side, then dip one side of each scallop in the honey before serving with each of my dressings.
The duck was a pretty straight forward feat. Fried for 4 mins on each side (then added a little extra time for preference) I left them to rest, then added balsamic vinegar to the pan, the juice of one orange and the raspberries.

Note: at this point I was running over a bit time-wise so I decided not to pass my raspberry sauce through a sieve – school boy error, do you know how many little seeds are in raspberries? If one must cut time, it would have been better to have not passed the apple mixture through a sieve as the consistency wasn’t marginally different.

Nevertheless, I’d say both dishes came out as expected. I served the main with my famous heavenly light mashed potato, and greens (of course!) The flavour was perfect, we were both so full after eating – no space for dessert. Now here is the finished result and recipes should you want to try them.

2 Responses to “Recipe | Stylist Magazine Recipe | Glazed scallops with apple and pistachio; Pan-fried duck breast with raspberry and balsamic sauce”

  1. santa rosa italian restaurants December 7, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    I think this is among the such a lot vital information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. However want to statement on some normal things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Excellent job, cheers

    • FoodieClaire December 7, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

      Thank you for your kind comment. I’m glad you like my blog! 🙂

Leave a comment

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Nutrition

Ventures in Balanced Eating and Finding Bliss in the Little Things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

Discover Filipino Culinary Treasures, Global Delights, and Everything Food! Unleash Flavors of Classics, Hidden Gems, and International Cuisine Tailored to Filipino Palate. Indulge in Recipes, Food Discoveries, and More. Satisfy Your Foodie Cravings with Us!

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

Samphire and Salsify

London food blog with restaurant reviews

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

Baker on the Rise

one sweet recipe at a time