Le Relais de Venise L’Entrecôte – City of London

30 Oct

relais%2520de%2520%2520venise[1]

I made a bit of a faux pas – I went out to eat and I didn’t take photos! Imagine that! *covers face* In my defence it was a business lunch so it wasn’t really appropriate to take pics – also in the city of London with all of those toffee nosed stuck up City B-Wankers – it’s really not the sort of environment to take pics. I had to just tell you about my visit to Le Relais de Venise in Throgmorton Street, London.

Le Relais de Venise had been on my “restaurant hit-list” for well over a year. Yes I do have a restaurant hit-list – a carefully constructed list of restaurants that I would like to visit. It’s on a Google Doc and everything. Well I do work in digital marketing!

I was starting to think I’ve never get the opportunity to visit, until one of my suppliers asked where my colleagues and I would like to go for lunch – in the city. Easy decision. We opted for a later lunch because city people like to eat early lunches – unless it’s a Friday it seems – in which case yes they will go early – but sit for aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaages – because it’s Friday and they are financial workers so why should they actually work – huh? Anyhow. We arrived at 1.30pm and it took a half hour to be seated – oh right did I fail to mention that they don’t take bookings? Yes – that. We were seated and given the menu – for drinks – because here you only have to answer one question for them on food “rare or medium?” that’s IT. Nothing else – no other questions. Unless you’re a vegetarian – in which case they might ask why you are there because it’s certainly not for veggies.

I’m not going to lie – I’ve had better steak. Of course I have – because I’ve had Chateaubriand and fillet steak, but this isn’t about what cut of meat you have – not at all – entrecôte is not a bad cut of meat – not by any mile – it’s premium (that’s for you Brian). This is about the accompaniments. The amazing salad that you have as a starter, the fantastic sauce on the steak and the frites. You’re served and you start eating – just when you think you’ve almost finished (but you know you could eat more) the waitress piles a bit more onto your plate – it’s wondrous! Don’t forget the obligatory dijon mustard – you’d be a fool to!

Lunch here was gorgeous – I’ll definitely be coming back, for dinner – I want to bring my other half… He would love it. Although he travels so frequently to Paris it wouldn’t surprise me if he’s been to the French counterparts.

I couldn’t manage dessert but there is a good selection of them and they look pretty good. crème brûlée and profiteroles to name a few.

I’ve never been a dessert gal so I reclined (yes that and declined) and relished the taste of the steak whilst sipping on wine. Ah the wine. It’s palatable – but the house (which everyone seemed to be ordering) is slightly acidic. Not sure I would go for that again…

Le Relais de Venise L’Entrecôte
5 Throgmorton Street, London EC2N 2AD
020 7638 6325
 

Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecôte on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

Leave a Reply

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

LIFE

Classic Pictures From LIFE Magazine's Archives

The Very Hungry Londoner

Food. Travel. London.

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

Samphire and Salsify

just another food blog

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,231 other followers

