How to Make Effortless Easy Hummus – that tastes great | Recipe

8 Apr

One day last week I made home-made hummus. So what? I know you’re thinking. There wasn’t a motive behind it. I was at the supermarket and saw the pre-packaged stuff and suddenly felt like making some. I Googled “hummus recipe” and came across a Guardian article with a whole thesis on how to make the best hummus. It was really long winded. Involving soaking chickpeas in bicarbonate of soda and boiling them and all sorts. Nevertheless I got home and put my chickpeas to soak in some bicarb for a few hours. I noticed afterwards that the recipe said to soak them for 24 hours – then boil chickpeas for four hours!

F*** that I thought – I didn’t recall hummus being so laborious. There must be easier methods. Again I Googled “hummus recipe” and noticed the first link which was a BBC URL. The recipe said it was for “quick hummus”. This was far more digestible (‘scuse me pun).

I simply needed to blend everything together and then adjust to taste. That sounded much more like my thing. So that is what I did.

I was amazed at how fantastic it tasted. Never again will I buy the supermarket stuff. This was even better than Hummus Bros. on Wardour Street, Soho, which I refuse to visit because I visited just once when they first opened and the hummus in my opinion was tasteless and lacked the garlicky taste I was hankering for. I don’t give second chances (certainly not at my own expense)

So there you have it. Home made hummus takes less than half an hour to make. Is a real party piece and tastes 10 times better than the supermarket stuff.

making hummus

making hummus

easy hummus recipe

Ingredients

  • One 400g tin of chickpeas in water (will be about 200 or so grams drained)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice or more
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced (don’t forget to remove the piths!)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt
  • 4 tbsp of tahini
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp paprika

Drain chickpeas but reserve some of the water to loosen the mixture of hummus once you’ve made it. Into a hand processor add the chickpeas, three garlic cloves minced, 1tsp of ground cumin, half a juice of lemon and about four teaspoons of tahini plus salt to taste. Blend until chickpeas are all mashed and ingredients combined. Taste and add any of the previous ingredients according to taste.

Once made tip out onto a plate (or Tupperware if you’re storing) smooth the top with the back of a spoon, cover the top with a glug of extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle paprika. Should look amazing.

Eat with pitta, crackers or celery and carrot sticks. Yum.

Love FoodieClaire x

2 Responses to “How to Make Effortless Easy Hummus – that tastes great | Recipe”

  1. Christina Jules April 9, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    If using tinned chickpeas always use organic…tastes so much better.

    • FoodieClaire April 9, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

      I think I did use organic! But I’ll check next time to make sure. Thanks Auntie C – glad you’re enjoying my blog :) xxxx

Leave a Reply

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

LIFE

Classic Pictures From LIFE Magazine's Archives

The Very Hungry Londoner

Food. Travel. London.

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quĂȘte de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

Samphire and Salsify

just another food blog

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,231 other followers

