Poached Egg Cups | Leon Restaurant, 36 Old Compton Street London, W1D 4TT | a breakfast dream come true…

12 Apr

Leon restaurant Old Compton Street. London

I couldn’t believe my eyes when about three weeks ago, I walked past Leon of Old Compton St in Soho, London and spotted the latest addition to their menu; egg cups. I had to try them. I am a huge fan of breakfast. Savoury of course. To me, every perfect breakfast should include eggs. I can’t comprehend those that don’t like them. What’s not to like? There are so many things you can do with them for breakfast. Poach, boil, scramble, fry, omelette – and bake, commonly known as cocotte. I first tried oeuf en cocotte off the back of Nigella Lawson’s recipe – and then realised you can add a lot of variations to your baked eggs and double cream. Bacon, spinach etc.

This is precisely what Leon have cleverly mastered with their egg cups. So, one Friday I woke up early with a plan to visit Leon before work. They had kindly offered to let me try their egg cups on the house. But which one? In my excitement of trying this new dish, I hadn’t decided in advance. So unlike me. I always choose what I want before going to restaurants, and a backup plan.

Asking the lovely assistant she helpfully suggested the ham hock which is a branch favourite and the one they promote in their board. She also told me that the chorizo is her personal fave. I like the concept of ham hock. It’s so American. So I chose that. It comes served with two slices of toast. Not just any toast. I’m not sure what type of bread it was. It was almost sour dough texture. Slightly on the heavy side. But very tasty. Especially with butter. Especially dipped in egg. Wow. Seriously good. Even better washed down with my coffee. The only thing was – I couldn’t taste the gruyere cheese. Not a hint.

poached egg cups at leon restaurant

poached egg cups. Breakfast in leon restaurant london

poached egg cups with gruyere cheese and ham hock at leon

poached egg cups with gruyere cheese and ham hock at leon

poached egg cups with gruyere cheese and ham hock at leon

Eggy deliciousness – yum

poached egg cups with gruyere cheese and ham hock at leon

Justin popped down to say hi and asked me what I thought. I also grilled him a bit. Lovely to see head management operating front of house and visible.

Finished my breakfast and still made it to work early. I have to say. I could get quite used to getting to central London early to treat myself to breakfast.Certainly a wonderful way to start my day. Nice window view too. Watching the world go by… God how I love Soho…

leon old compton street

Love the innovative use of gherkin tins as lamp shades at Leon restaurant in Old Compton Street

Leon's restaurant on Old Compton Street London

This is what Leon on Old Compton St looks like at 8.30 on a Friday morning

menu at leon restaurant in old compton street

leon restaurant old compton street london

view from inside of leon on old compton street london

Thank you to Justin, Georgie and Soozi for your lovely hospitality and giving me the opportunity to have a wonderful pre work breakfast :)

Leon on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

4 Responses to “Poached Egg Cups | Leon Restaurant, 36 Old Compton Street London, W1D 4TT | a breakfast dream come true…”

  1. Sophie April 13, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    I had my first trip to Leon the other day – I’m from Stoke-on-Trent so don’t get to London as much as I’d like. It was heavenly. I want to eat from there all the time. The egg cups look amazing. I feel like their menu should be what I base my diet around!
    Love the blog by the way
    Sophie

    • FoodieClaire April 13, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      It’s a shame they are not based outside of London but sometimes smaller is better :) It’s good fresh food isn’t it? I love it. Thanks for the compliment I’ll be sure to check out your blog too. Thanks for visiting xxx

      • Sophie April 13, 2012 at 11:29 am #

        Definitely, It wouldn’t be the same if they were everywhere, quality might inevitably suffer. It was just so refreshing to eat great fast food! No problem xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Persian Chicken and Avocado Salad at Leon Restaurant | Summer Food « Foodie Claire - July 2, 2012

    [...] outside of their restaurant. The marketing certainly works for me (as you may have seen in my Poached Egg Cups post). I regularly find myself hot-footing it into the nearest branch (almost always Old Compton Street) [...]

Leave a Reply

Steve Says...

"Randomness sprinkled with awesomeness..."

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

LIFE

Classic Pictures From LIFE Magazine's Archives

The Very Hungry Londoner

Food. Travel. London.

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

A little blog about food, restaurants and drinking by an Essex Girl

Samphire and Salsify

just another food blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,232 other followers

