A visit to Hawksmoor; Seven Dials, Dishoom and Pix | all in 30 hours.

26 Mar

Last week was a pretty epic week for eating out. I was lucky enough to be taken to Hawksmoor, treated to brunch at Dishoom and I also met a friend for lunch at Pix. All in the space of 30 hours. Foodieclaire doesn’t do things by halves. Unfortunately I couldn’t take pics at Dishoom as it was a business lunch and I didn’t have my badass camera with me. Pix was a catch up lunch and so to have snapped away would have been rude. Plus it was an afternoon on the tiles so I didn’t want to irresponsibly take my camera out whilst on the Sauvi B.

I did however have my camera for Hawksmoor. Good old Hawksmoor. My first steak love. I still think the Spitalfields branch beats the Seven Dials one hands down (maybe its because I once spent £96 on a cut of steak at Spitalfields. Yes £96). Or just because… It’s the first branch. The one and only original. It’s heavenly Hawksmoor minus the suits and tourists. Heavenly I tell you.

Anyways when I did go, it was initially only meant to be for drinks, but the Hawksmoor at Seven Dials doesn’t have a drinks only licence so we had to have food (understandably you would have heard a lot about the newly opened basement bar at Spitalfields, London). So after a cocktail and halfway through my martini, I had a Kimchi burger. A first for me. “how would you like your burger?” the lovely bar man asked me. “medium rare” I replied. He then advised me that he recommends medium to well done as it would be rather moist as it is and if I had it medium rare it would fall apart. Ok.

He was right. It was a tough feat keeping the thing together. Damn good it was though. Lovely friends who happened to be my ex boss’s had rib steak and pearl barley. Had a bit of food envy at creamed spinach. Also, I had the option of having my Kimchi burger served with Beef Dripping Chips (wow) but I was still in “I need to fit into a wedding dress this weekend” mode, so I opted for a sensible green salad.

Kimchi Burger at Hawksmoor Restaurant, Seven Dials, London

Kimchi Burger cooked medium to well done, served with cheese. Meat overload (damn good).

Prime Rib Steak at Hawksmoor Seven Dials London

Pearl Barley served with seasonal vegetables at Hawksmoor Seven Dials London

Hawksmoor Seven Dials on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

2 Responses to “A visit to Hawksmoor; Seven Dials, Dishoom and Pix | all in 30 hours.”

  1. Serena March 27, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Great review foodie cuz! David and I have been trying to hunt down the best burger in London. We tried to go to Meat and Liquor but was put off by the ridiculous queue (no burger can be that good can it??) Anyway i think Hawksmoor could be a contender! i’ll take your advice on which branch to visit :-) x

    • FoodieClaire March 27, 2012 at 11:28 am #

      I love your constant support :) I think you and David would like this burger. It was really good. I want to go to Meat Liquor too. Can I come with you? Also I am DYING to try Burger and Lobster (it’s on my to do list). xxxxx

Leave a Reply

Repeating Islands

News and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts

A Thrifty Mrs

A fun money saving blog

LIFE

Classic Pictures From LIFE Magazine's Archives

The Very Hungry Londoner

Food. Travel. London.

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

Starter and main please, skip the dessert...

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

A blog about dishes and recipes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

Starter and main please, skip the dessert...

Samphire and Salsify

just another food blog

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,214 other followers

