Qype Valentine’s Event | Burrito Masterclass | Tortilla Mexican Grill, 28 Leadenhall Market, London EC3V 1LR

4 Mar

This feels like a very late post… because it is! What with wedding stuff taking priority currently, publishers contacting me regarding my blog, concentrating on the job that pays my way – it’s been a crazy few weeks! I very much want to share the day of luuuurve with you so here goes…

So how was your Valentine’s Day? Mine was pretty epic. I usually don’t do anything. 1. It’s a massive commercial hole where the only ones that benefit are the retailers. 2. Name one restaurant you can visit on Valentine’s Day and not have a (deposit pre-paid) set menu thrusted in your face with cheaply obtained produce. I was lucky enough to be invited to an event courtesy of Qype at Tortilla Mexican Grill in Leadenhall Market.

The invite stated that we would be taught the art of burrito making, making guacamole and filling burritos. I couldn’t wait. All I had to do was bring my +1. A feat that I thought would be a challenge. You see my +1 isn’t a fan of Mexican food. If I’m honest, neither am I. Apart from burritos that is. My OH said yes when I asked him if he would come. I was surprised :) when we arrived at Tortilla in Leadenhall Street, Bank, we were greeted warmly and shown to the lined up margaritas. Drinks were flowing. Corona Beer/ Strawberry/Raspberry Margaritas. We were greeted and introduced to Tortilla Mexican Grill and the history of the brand by the founder of Tortilla, Brandon Stephens.

Tortilla Mexican Grill mission statement

Following this introduction, we started our first task. Making guacamole. Baskets of tortilla chips were piled into the middle of the table and tubs of avocado halves were distributed to groups. An array of ingredients sat waiting to be used. Salt, pepper, onions, chillies, cilantro, lime juice, tomatoes, garlic. It was heavenly. One problem. My OH doesn’t like avocado. His job was to mash the ingredients I was pouring in and I watched, and tasted. I had thumbs up from Brandon and some of the others. It seems my first attempt had been a good one! When I wasn’t looking the OH had said he tried the guacamole mixture and it was “alright”. That’s a pretty good response for someone that doesn’t eat avocado or raw tomatoes!

We packaged up our guacamole creations, labelled them and was told we could take them home if we pleased when we left! Couldn’t wait!

Next came the burritos. We had the choice to make our own or have it made for us. I wanted to try the art of making burritos so had a bash with assistance. I was very surprised at how simple it was – until it came to the rolling part. That is hard. To roll a burrito tightly but not tight enough for it to split is a hard feat. Nevertheless I did it! My burrito contained cilantro rice, black beans, grilled steak, braised pork (yes meat overload), tomatoes and lettuce. I skipped the cheese and sour cream – a little fat overload plus I was feeling full from guacamole and margaritas. With a little help I carefully rolled my burrito.

It was damn good. Extremely tasty. I wish I’d had more salsa because the meat was surprisingly less flavoured than I thought it would be. Given the process of marinating the meat I thought it would contain more flavour. Other than this. It was GOOD.

Full of burrito we ended the evening with a special valentine’s quiz with a mixture of Tortilla inspired questions featuring recaps of informative facts we’d had slipped into our introduction earlier, and historical questions on L.O.V.E. Our team (the N.A.G.S) came second. Not bad I thought as there were about 6 or 7 teams.

Finally the icing on the top was our goody bags.

Special thanks to the always amazing Qype team, *T* and Brandon. Since Valentine’s Day, all I’ve been able to think about is Burritos. I’ve had two since but I’m thinking home made burritos might have to be my next project!

I visited Tortilla after the event to take some photographs of the basement seating (great for private events) and the burrito process. I would have taken some photo’s on the night but I didn’t want my camera to get in the way of my Mexican feast.There’s a piece about the event on Qype’s site here (which I am mentioned in!) and you can see the back of my head in the top pic (ha ha wish they’d warned me beforehand).

Time to make burritos!

Tortilla on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

4 Responses to “Qype Valentine’s Event | Burrito Masterclass | Tortilla Mexican Grill, 28 Leadenhall Market, London EC3V 1LR”

  1. Hassan Mirza (@Hassanmirza) March 4, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Great stuff, Claire. Burritos seem to be big business at the moment….which I love being from So Cal. Really interesting marketing campaigns from Tortilla, Wahaca, Daddy Donkey. Good on them for inviting you down. This is blogger outreach done well!

    • FoodieClaire March 4, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

      Thanks Hassan! :) do you know I am just beginning my burrito journey? I have only tried Tortilla, Benito’s Hat and Freebird. Want to try Poncho8, Wahaca, Chipolte, Daddy Donkey – gosh there are so many! xxx

  2. t brown March 8, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Hey Claire

    It’s *T*

    Great write up of the event, glad you enjoyed it, hope you see down at some of our other events

    xxx

    • FoodieClaire March 21, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Sorry for the very late reply :( Thank you so much T. I hope to see you soon xxx

Leave a Reply

LIFE

Classic Pictures From LIFE Magazine's Archives

The Very Hungry Londoner

Food. Travel. London.

London BYO/Corkage Restaurant List

BYO and corkage information for London Restaurants, grouped by area.

She Hearts The High Street

Stay stylish on a budget

Little Bliss Book

A 20-something's ventures in clean eating, healing from allergies & finding bliss in the little things

Unofficial Guide to the London Underground

Mind the gap. And your manners.

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

Somewhere Beyond the Sea

A blog about life, travel and sights along the way

Foodie Claire

Starter and main please, skip the dessert...

the boy who ate the world

Confessions of a Malaysian-born, London-based foodblogger in search of the perfect meal...

The London Review of Sandwiches

In search of London's best sandwiches

Ang Sarap (A Tagalog word for "It's Delicious")

Dishes prepared by a passionate foodie simplified for people who shares the same passion. Warning: May contain traces of reviews

lizsheldon

Just another WordPress.com site

en quĂȘte de saveur

a flavor quest

London Living

Starter and main please, skip the dessert...

Samphire and Salsify

just another food blog

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Baker on the Rise

one sweet recipe at a time

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,173 other followers

